From Software devloper to DevOps

From Software devloper to DevOps

Summary

I've come a long way from not knowing anything to working on three projects. As I write this, I'm smiling as I recall my frustration at not finding a solution and the endless hours I spent searching the internet for errors. I also recall how words like AWS, Kubernetes, Docker, Observability, and Monitoring were intimidating to me. How I feared getting charged on my first day in the AWS cloud. How I Began Learning Linux, How It Continues, and While I'm Here Taking Pictures to Feel Like a Hacker Like in Movies... It's just amazing...

How my luck brings me to devops

If you've read any of my other blogs, you'll be familiar with the Kunal Kuswaha Channel. np if this is your first visit to my blog, Welcome... Visit this blog of mine for a wider perspective. I basically began learning Linux because I was sick of Windows. It's functioning as a tortoise. That bothers me, so I looked for another OS. I learned about Linux's open-source capabilities, if you know me. You are aware of my love for open source. After extensive research, I discovered Ubuntu for beginners. I'm most fond of its user interface. Then I downloaded it onto my PC. There are errors and errors. Errors like this were not found. path is wrong; do you mean this? and a lot more. I now regret having downloaded Ubuntu at the time. As time goes on, I just keep learning, and I can now easily write shell scripts.

I then began learning from Kunal Kuswaha about how the internet works because I was interested in it. Up until now, I didn't know anything about devops. I was pursuing my interests. Then I listened to a podcast featuring Kunal Kuswaha and Nana's Techworld. Yes, that does make me feel something. Although the session wasn't like that, I find their talk to be very exciting.

I've already finished creating two applications and one website, from which I've gained a thorough understanding of software development. kind of good, actually. But repetition is what gets old to me. I don't like to write code, sleep and code. I'd like to learn new things, and according to Glassdoor, software developers earn less than devops engineers, machine learning engineers, or AI engineers. In order to choose, I gave myself four options: machine learning and artificial intelligence (AI), data science, and DevOps. I then began looking for new things to investigate. Why these three? When I looked into it, these items caught my attention and had good pay. Thats it. I began studying data science and received a certificate from IBM for it. It involves a lot of math, which I find boring. The first example I solved did not pique my interest. I then switched to artificial intelligence and machine learning. Although less so than data science, it still requires math, which I find unappealing.

Officially started my DevOps Journey

I then began learning more about the DevOps field. I understand that it is intended for professionals who have previously worked as software engineers and are switching to a different field. On the other hand, I noticed a rise in demand for DevOps engineers. I started out by following Saiyam Pathak's roadmap. Additionally, I want to thank Techworld with Nana for all of their assistance. The simplicity of his lectures was one of her qualities that I liked the most because it always piqued my interest in learning new things. I learned about Docker and Kubernetes and had numerous installation and setup issues before succeeding. I added my debit card to AWS when I first began my cloud journey. I learned about EC2, and now Ubuntu is my favorite. Then I discovered Jenkins CI and Github actions. This automated process fascinated me, and let me tell you that your build will fail more than 100 times. Despite this, don't get discouraged. it happens to everyone. I then started IAAC and studied Terraform because it is currently the most well-known tool. I found it fascinating how things could be constructed, like a house with eip settings, an internet gateway, and EC2 instances. Yes, the entire process is enjoyable, though it will undoubtedly take some time to learn from your mistakes.

Three Projects

Now I have learned stuff. For practical knowledge, I want to make something from it. I wanted to put it on my resume, so I got this playlist for my projects. This person has the most straightforward explanations. He explains how to deal with errors. Though the projects were not difficult, errors were. I received 3–4 major errors. If you encounter any problems, please contact me, and I will do my best to resolve them. My three projects are now finished, and my resume is prepared. Projects are available on my GitHub. I'm currently learning about observability, monitoring, and service mesh from Techworld with Nana and new tools like monokle, lens, and datree from a playlist by Kunal Kuswaha.

Resources I have used:

Saiyam Pathak roadmap Trainwithshubham DevOps project for resume Techworld with nana Communities, job portal and roadmaps to follow

Let's Connect:

Twitter LinkedIn Github