Dummies Guide to Tech

Photo by Luca Bravo on Unsplash

Dummies Guide to Tech

My First Year in Technology:

Let me first describe how I found out about technology and coding stuff. I've never imagined myself as a computer engineer. As I enjoy space discussions in general and also want to prove and learn new things, my dream was to become a space scientist. Basically, it makes me happy. I finished the tenth grade, placed fifth in my school, and had my picture displayed on the school banner. My friends and teachers were more than happy to suggest that I enroll in the science program (Indian mindset). If you get good grades in 10th grade, take science. I did it because science in 10th grade was fairly good and I find math to be fairly boring (this is also one of the reasons I chose to take DevOps). I decided on bio and began to study for the NEET when I realized about my family's issues. I also left that. I was dispersed into a million pieces and left with nothing to do. If they never permit me to do so, what should I do? I experienced depression for two months.

How did I start?

One fine day, as I was scrolling through my phone, an advertisement for White Hat Jr. and their free demo class appeared. That caught my attention, so I did some in-depth research on it to learn more about how the world is moving toward remote work and how businesses are implementing WFH as they did during the Corona phase. Then, I had a thought: if businesses can now conduct business from home, is it possible that tech work can also be conducted from home? After that, I started doing some research. On Harry's channel, I learned about code. He is the best if you are just starting out and have no prior experience with technology. I picked up Java. My 12th grade year was concurrent with this, so it took me six months. The phrases "can I do this?" and "is it for me?" keep coming up. My laptop went blank when I first downloaded IntelliJ IDEA because of a path problem. It starts, but then the screen turns black. When I saw this, I was shocked. I've never used a computer before, and even my typing skills are lacking. As I type with one finger, my head was cocked toward the keyboard. Funny, isn't it? … But it was complicated. I know there will be some people saying, "Go to Indian idols and Neha Kakkar pakka ro degi,". I just want you to be aware that challenges await you at every turn. You must be able to handle it.

Why did I choose Java as my first language?

Screenshot 2022-11-05 232922.png

There are only three options, as we all know: Python, Java, and C++. I was fascinated by how mobile applications works. According to what I've heard, C++ is the hardest language to learn, while Python is the easiest. That's why I started with Java as my language of choice. At 10th oct 2021 I wrote my first hello world, and yes, I created two applications, both(Mcq App and Music Player) are now an open source project, and there is no turning back now. My boards then arrived. I began making preparations for the same. Since my only goal was to pass, I only gave myself a month to prepare.

Remote Job and Open Source

I took a month off after that. I reopened my research. I subscribed to Kunal's channel, which gave me more energy and self-assurance for working remotely. He advises creating a Twitter ID, so I did. I also created a LinkedIn ID. Several people and I were able to communicate. I began educating myself on git and github and contributed to open source. I won Hacktoberfest 2022. I helped some students do the same.I created a blogging website while learning web development. I learned about data science, machine learning, and AI. I learned DSA in Java from Kunal, and I'm now on the DevOps path, where I hope to make money, and I'm using the AWS cloud for my Kubernetes cluster. Let me throw some heavy words... I learned Kubernetes, Docker, Minikube, nodes, ports, clusters, CI/CD pipelines, Jenkins, terraform, and some other CNCF projects; I attended Kubecon North America this year, and now there is no going back.

IMG-20221023-WA0001.jpg

Conclusion

Even now, I'm looking for work while I develop my skills. My typing speed is adequate but not exceptional. As you can see, I speak mediocre English. So, dude, it's not a two-hour movie where you can experience success or failure. it's real life. Be patient and work hard. Alright That's the end of it. A huge Thanks if you have reached till here. You can follow me on Twitter and LinkedIn, where I post daily updates about what I'm learning.

Let's Connect:

Twitter LinkedIn Github