How to Have Fun With Hacktoberfest

How to Have Fun With Hacktoberfest

My Story

I'm not a technical writing prodigy or a seasoned GitHub user. I am a beginner who knows how to tinker here and there patiently and get her work done. I am aware of your concern regarding GitHub. Yes, by the blog's end, you will have contributed. I won't be giving you any startup commands like git init, fork, pull, and push in this blog. If you want to learn about this go through video of Kunal. Due to Ishan Sharma's podcast with Kunal Kushwaha, I recently learned about his YouTube channel. His talk on remote work really impressed me, so I went to his channel to look for evidence. Does his work support what he says? I was overjoyed to discover that it supports what he says. There, I learned a lot about GitHub. With the help of his DSA playlist, I eventually began learning in public and discovered Eddie Jaoude. Eddie is a huge proponent of open source. The list of Twitter users who are passionate about open source is provided below.

Kunal Kushwaha Eddie Pradumna Saraf Praveen Avie Tamal

How I Started

Let's get to the point where I began. A month ago, I was afraid of GitHub, open source, and contributions. They were quite heavy and horrifying words for me. I'll be honest. I started to have swags. Your mind requires rewards, right? According to the author of "Atomic Habits," the fourth rule of the habit-making structure: "Make it satisfying." My first PR was a non-code contribution. A repository is available here. It was a list of sources for learning about various tech stacks. I searched the repository to see if anything was missing. I discovered that there are no resources for cloud technology. That was added after I recently received my Coursera certificate as an AWS cloud practitioner. Yes, thankfully, it was merged. I received a badge from Holopin along with an email from Hacktoberfest. I was thrilled at that moment. Additionally, I've started searching through the repos for items I can add. I made connections on Twitter and LinkedIn with people whose four pr were accepted. I requested support. They helped me, and Ya my prs got merged.

How to do it, Do's, and Don't:

There is a structured repository for Hacktoberfest projects. There are some pretty good first issues. There is also a website called good first issue Start by contributing non-code. Never attempt to understand a huge code base. Keep up the consistency. Examine the various "Read Me" files. Browse the section on the issue and try to add your review of it. Sometimes we have an idea but can't code it. Put it in there. Make connections through the Github discussion section, Twitter, Linkedin, and Discord. If you can't contribute daily, just browse the GitHub GUI every day, and your fear of being a beginner will vanish. Attend the seminars that Hacktoberfest sponsors. I am aware that you have read this information before. It's everywhere but trust me there is no other way around. Be patient and calm. I submitted over ten requests. After the maintainer's seven-day review period, Four of them were approved and accepted. On LinkedIn, I sent dozens of connection requests requesting assistance. Only two people who responded helped me.

Don'ts :

Avoid spamming PRs. Avoid adding code straight from the internet. Don't add PRs to your friend's repository just to get them accepted. You might succeed in the short run, but success, in the long run, requires hard work. Don't create PRs without reading the Readme; each repository has its own rules.

There is not a single word in this blog that I have not suffered. Everything is just based on experience.

Resources I have used:

Git Basics your first contribution in Eddie's repository profile basics

Let's connect:

Please feel free to dm me if you have any questions about GitHub's contribution to open source. I would be delighted to assist. And if you're a fan of remote work, let's geek out and share knowledge.

Twitter LinkedIn

Check out my work here

GitHub