How I ruined my KubeCon Event experience

How I ruined my KubeCon Event experience

How It all started

Due to my limited attendance at events, this blog post is brief. The video that Kunal made to introduce me to Kubecon was the catalyst for the entire event. I submitted an application for a scholarship despite the fact that I was confident. I would not be successful given that thousands of students and professionals would be submitting similar applications and I was a novice.

Got My Confirmation

It wasn't until October 18 that I received my confirmation letter... I was delighted

Screenshot 2022-11-02 141157.png

Event Day

Since North America was having its 23rd of October, which I discovered when I learned about the time difference, there was not a single session when I checked for the event at 9:00 am on the 24th. I was unable to attend most of the event because I was totally confused. I tried to understand its dashboard the day before, but I kept failing; it was too complex for a beginner to understand. On the first day, I was excited to attend, and I was ready as if I were attending in person. I knew it would be great to learn from these many new people.. but I live in India and there was a difference of approx Nine hours

Peer Group Mentoring + Career Networking (VIRTUAL)

This is the only event I attended. It was only virtually accessible. But trust me when I say that it was too good because it helped me overcome my fear of speaking up in front of others and my constant desire to learn from the best experts in that field. and there it was. Basically, I attended group mentoring and networking sessions. The topics of GitHub, open source, and DevOps were being discussed by students. The project maintainers and DevOps engineers provided insightful responses.

IMG-20221031-WA0006.jpg

How you can attend in person for free

I am greatly impacted by my time zone. I then began looking into how I could go next year in person for free. I learned about applications for visa letters, grants for tickets and admission passes, and a grant for travel expenses. I learned that there are events every month, but this is the biggest one.

Let's Connect:

Twitter LinkedIn Github